8/10/09 – TG: Lynn LaRowe named journalist of the year

Texarkana Gazette
August 10, 2009

Texarkana Gazette wins top awards in competition

The Texarkana Gazette took seven top awards among the 45 it won in professional journalism competitions judged this year for work created in 2008.

In the North & East Texas Press Association contest, the Gazette took first place in Community Service, Special Sections, Editorials and Sports Coverage. Reporter Lynn LaRowe was named Journalist of the Year.

In the Arkansas Press Association contest, the Gazette took first place in Tourism Coverage and Coverage of Business and Agriculture.

The Community Service award was for a series of articles and commentary about problems with the Miller County Jail and Sheriff’s Office. LaRowe and Jim Williamson were the primary contributors, with editorial page support from Russell McDermott, Ethel Channon, Les Minor and Geneva Stovall.

The Special Section award was for the special edition on the return of pro baseball to Texarkana called “Baseball’s Back,” primarily written by Aaron Brand, with writing contributions from Johnny Green, McDermott and Minor and design contributions from Danielle Dupree, Andrea Miller and Judy Morgan.

The Editorial Writing award went to McDermott and Channon for opinion pieces on charges of racial bias in a local courts and the failings of the Miller County sheriff, respectively. The Sports Coverage award was based on all manner of sports coverage in two editions, including stories, headlines, photography, design and scope and depth of coverage.

The Journalist of the Year award was based on five stories, primarily from the court beat, written by LaRowe. Her portfolio included stories about Tony Alamo, problems with the Miller County jail and sheriff, and charges against local attorney Mark Lesher and his wife and their public battle to defend themselves.

Brand and Ashley Gardner contributed stories to the Tourism Coverage entry, including pieces on the Jonquil and Purple Hull Pea festivals, cultural development in East Texas, one-tank getaways and autumn nature tours.

The Business and Agriculture Coverage entry was a staff effort. The six story package included the “Into the Crystal Ball” Progress Edition and stories from current Gazette staffers Williamson, Brand and Brandy Chewning.

NETPA second-place recipients were, Evan Lewis, Sports Photography; Lewis and Tanner Spendley, Feature Photography; and Page Design and Sweepstakes. Page Design contributors were Miller, Morgan, McDermott and Stevon Gamble. Sweepstakes represents total points in all categories.

Third-place recipients were Brand for Feature Writing; Spendley and Lewis for News Photography; and staff for Advertising and General Excellence.

Fourthplace recipients were LaRowe and Lori Dunn for News Writing, Minor for Column Writing, Lewis of Photographer of the Year, and copy desk for Headline Writing.

In the Texas Associated Press Managing Editor’s contest, Lewis took second place in News Photography and third place in Sports Photography.

In the Arkansas Associated Press Managing Editor’s contest the Gazette took second place in General Excellence and Spendley took second place in Feature Photography.

Third-place finishers were Spendley for Spot News Photography; Dunn and Tabitha Houchens for Spot News Story; Brand for News Feature Story; McDermott for Editorial Writing; Williamson for Business Coverage; and LaRowe, Williamson and Susan Lindsey for News Coverage.

Andrea Miller won an honorable mention for Headline Writing.

In the APA competition, second-place awards were taken by Channon in Editorial Writing, Miller in Headline Writing, Gamble in Best Sports Page and Lewis and Spendley in Best Picture Page.

Third-place awards were taken by Stovall in Humorous Column, Spendley in Feature Photography, Spendley in Sports Action Photography and the staff in General Excellence.

Honorable mentions went to LaRowe for News Story, Dunn for News Story, Minor for General Interest Column, Minor for Humorous Column Writing and Spendley for Feature Photography. Brand took two honorable mentions for Sports Feature Writing.

The Gazette competes in the high circulation division of all these competitions, except for Texas APME, where it competes in the second highest circulation division and is one of the smallest papers in the division.

In: 2009 - (Trial year)

| Back to Top |
Want to help?

Click the button!

One Post

  1. Jael Sprinkle Says:



Post A Comment

Please note: All comments are moderated. There is no need to resubmit your comment. Please submit a well thought out post with proper punctuation and spelling, so that it can be reviewed and posted promptly (as space allows).

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.